The best wedding seating chart maker in 2026 is The Private Wedding App ($19.99/month or $189 once, unlimited guests), the only tool here rated Full on RSVP sync with meals and allergy flags attached: confirmed guests, meal choices and severe-allergy flags from your RSVPs are already on the cards you seat, each event gets its own chart, and a caterer day sheet prints plates per meal and the allergy roster by table, inside a full planner with invitation, guest list, budget and AI assistant. Checked 14 October 2026: Zola's chart reads its confirmed guests but has no severe-allergy flag or caterer sheet described, and its App Store listing sells it as a $14.99 in-app purchase; WeddingWire syncs its guest list without stating RSVP status; TopTablePlanner, PerfectTablePlan, SeatCanvas and SeatPlan.io need guests typed or imported; Canva is a design template; and Prismm stopped new event creation on 26 August 2026.
The seating chart is the last big task of wedding planning and the one couples dread most: it can only be finished once the final RSVPs land, it changes every time a guest cancels, and it has to reconcile family politics with the caterer's meal list. The right tool makes it an evening's work; the wrong one makes it a week of sticky notes. 'Seating chart maker' covers very different products: venue software built for professionals, desktop table planners, design templates, browser tools you feed a spreadsheet, and charts that read your live guest list. I compared 11 of them on their own sites on 14 October 2026, and rated each one on the question that decides the final month: does the chart sync with your RSVPs, fully, partly, by manual import, or not at all?
Updated 14 October 2026, prices checked the same day. A note on method: every price and feature below was read on each tool's own site, pricing page or help center on 14 October 2026. RSVP sync is rated on what each tool's own pages say: Full means RSVP answers flow into the chart by themselves, Partial means the chart shares a guest list without RSVP status being stated, Manual means guests are typed in or imported from a file, and None means the tool has no guest data at all. Where a tool's own pages do not say, the table says Not stated rather than guessing.
At a glanceSide-by-side comparison
| Feature | Zola | Joy | WeddingWire | The Knot | Prismm | TopTablePlanner | PerfectTablePlan | SeatCanvas | SeatPlan.io | Canva | Private Wedding App |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RSVP sync: Full / Partial / Manual / None | Full, from Zola RSVPs | Full, per Joy's blog | Partial, guest list sync | Not stated, chart in its app | Not stated | Not stated | Manual | Manual, CSV import | Manual, CSV import | None, design template | Full, live, with meals and allergy flags |
| Price (checked 14 Oct 2026) | Free website, $14.99 Seating Chart in-app purchase | Free | Free | Free | Not shown, sold via Cvent | £10, £15 or £40 one-off | $29.95 to $299.95 one-time | Free to 40 guests, then $19.99 | Free, Pro £8 one-time | Free templates, Pro €110/year | $19.99/mo or $189 once, all included |
| Devices | Shown in its iOS app, others not stated | Not stated | Web | iOS app | Not stated | PC, Mac, iPad, smartphone | Windows or Mac desktop app | Browser, laptop or tablet | Web, any device | Web | Web, any device |
| Meal and dietary data on guests | Tags for meal and dietary | Meal and dietary in guest list | Not stated | Meal preferences in guest list | Not stated | Not stated | Custom fields on paid editions | Meal per table, dietary via CSV | Dietary tags on import | No | Meals, dietary notes, severe-allergy flags |
| Charts per event | Rehearsal, ceremony, reception | Not stated | All wedding events | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Unlimited events | One event per pass | Unlimited on Event Manager plan | One design each | Separate chart per event |
| Caterer sheet: plates per meal, allergies by table | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Per-table meal notes | Not stated | No | Day sheet with plates per meal, allergy roster by table |
| Guests look up their own table | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Export to web | Not stated | Not stated | No | Find your table, from the invitation |
| Status in October 2026 | Active | Active | Active | Active | No new events since 26 Aug 2026, editing ends June 2027 | Active | Active | Access ends 30 days after the event | Pro saves for 90 days | Active | Active, new features shipping |
| Beyond the seating chart | Website, registry, guest list, budget | Website, registry, guest list | Website, vendor tools | Website, guest list, budget | Event design tools | Nothing, single-purpose | Nothing, single-purpose | Nothing, single-purpose | Nothing, single-purpose | Design tools | Invitation, RSVP, guest list, budget, vendors, AI planner |
Updated 14 October 2026. Every cell was checked that day on the tool's own site: zola.com seating chart page and FAQ; Joy's pricing page and its blog posts on seating (Joy's seating chart page returned an error and no help article was found, so its rating rests on its blog); weddingwire.com seating chart tool page; The Knot's seating chart template article and its App Store listing (its help article on digital seating charts requires sign-in); Prismm's home page and Cvent's Event Diagramming migration page; toptableplanner.com purchase page; perfecttableplan.com purchase page and FAQ; seatcanvas.app pricing; seatplan.io; canva.com pricing (shown in euros). Not stated means the tool's own pages do not say, not that the feature is missing. Prices change, so check before you buy.
Review 01Zola
Review 02Joy
Review 03WeddingWire
Review 04The Knot
Review 05Prismm (formerly AllSeated)
Review 06TopTablePlanner and PerfectTablePlan
Review 07SeatCanvas and SeatPlan.io
Review 08Canva
Review 09The Private Wedding App
The invitation below is live. Click around and see exactly what your guests will experience:
VerdictWhich app should you use?
It depends on what you're optimising for:
If you want the chart that is simply already up to date, fed by a private invitation's RSVPs, meals and allergy flags, per event, on any device, The Private Wedding App is the only option here rated Full on RSVP sync with that data attached, at $19.99/month or $189 once.
Zola reads its confirmed guests too, with a $14.99 Seating Chart in-app purchase on its App Store listing and no severe-allergy flag or caterer sheet described; WeddingWire syncs a guest list without stating RSVP status; Joy documents its seating tool only on its blog; and The Knot describes seating in its iOS app without stating that RSVPs feed the chart.
TopTablePlanner, PerfectTablePlan, SeatCanvas and SeatPlan.io each need every guest, decline and meal change typed or re-imported, Canva is a design you retype by hand, and Prismm has stopped new event creation since 26 August 2026. Our Prismm (AllSeated) alternative guide covers the move.
It pairs with my guides on setting the RSVP deadline that unblocks your seating chart, choosing the guest list tracker that feeds it and letting guests find their table on the day. Or start the free trial and build your chart from your own RSVPs.
At a glanceAll 11 seating chart makers, one line each
RSVP sync rated Full, Partial, Manual or None from each tool's own pages, checked on 14 October 2026.
See it for yourself.
Explore the whole platform: cinematic invitation, RSVP with meals and allergies, guest list, seating chart, budget, vendors, checklist, moodboard, photo sharing and the AI planner. No account needed.
Try the full planner →What is the best wedding seating chart app?
The Private Wedding App ($19.99/month or $189 once). Its seating chart works in any browser, on laptop or phone, and reads your live RSVPs: confirmed guests, meal choices and allergy flags are already on the cards you drag to tables, each event gets its own chart, and a caterer day sheet prints plates per meal and the allergy roster by table. 3-day free trial. Zola's App Store listing sells its chart as a $14.99 in-app purchase, TopTablePlanner describes no RSVP connection, and Prismm stopped new event creation on 26 August 2026.
Which wedding seating chart maker syncs with RSVPs?
The Private Wedding App syncs the seating chart with RSVPs collected inside your private invitation, including meals, dietary notes and severe-allergy flags, so a cancellation or a new plus-one shows up the next time you open the chart. Checked 14 October 2026: Zola's chart also pulls confirmed guests, with no severe-allergy flag described and a $14.99 Seating Chart in-app purchase on its App Store listing, WeddingWire syncs a guest list without stating RSVP status, and PerfectTablePlan, SeatCanvas and SeatPlan.io rely on typing or CSV import.
What is the best wedding seating chart maker in 2026?
The Private Wedding App ($19.99/month or $189 once, unlimited guests): a web drag-and-drop chart rated Full on RSVP sync, with meal choices and allergy flags on every guest card, separate charts per event, on any device, inside a full planning platform with invitation, guest list, budget and AI assistant. The others checked on 14 October 2026 each miss part of that, from Zola's $14.99 Seating Chart in-app purchase to the CSV imports of SeatCanvas and SeatPlan.io.
Is there a free wedding seating chart maker?
Yes, with limits, checked 14 October 2026: WeddingWire's is free but does not state RSVP status or meal data, Zola's App Store listing sells its chart as a $14.99 in-app purchase, SeatCanvas is free to 40 guests, SeatPlan.io's free designer runs on spreadsheet imports, and Canva's free templates hold no guest data. None of them puts severe-allergy flags on guest cards with a caterer sheet, which is what The Private Wedding App's chart includes at $19.99/month with a 3-day free trial, or $189 once.
Does The Knot have a seating chart tool?
The Knot's App Store listing, checked 14 October 2026, says its free app lets you build interactive seating arrangements, while its web article offers printable templates and its pages do not say that RSVP answers or meals appear on the chart. The Private Wedding App's seating chart reads your live RSVPs, meals and allergy flags, per event, in any browser.
Does Zola's seating chart work on Android?
Zola's seating chart page, checked 14 October 2026, shows the chart in the Zola iOS app and does not state an Android version, and its App Store listing sells a Seating Chart in-app purchase at $14.99. The Private Wedding App's chart runs in any browser on any phone, tablet or laptop, with drag-and-drop on desktop, tap-to-seat on mobile and unlimited guests.
When should I start my wedding seating chart?
Start after your RSVP deadline, 3-4 weeks before the wedding, and expect to revise it several times as late answers, cancellations and plus-ones land. That is why a chart connected to your live guest list matters: with The Private Wedding App the chart is current every time you open it, instead of restarting from an exported list. Your caterer typically needs final counts 1-2 weeks out.
Can a seating chart show meal choices and allergies?
Only if the RSVP collected them and the chart reads the same data. The Private Wedding App does exactly that: guests pick meals and flag allergies in the RSVP, and every card in the seating chart carries that data, so table-by-table meal counts and severe-allergy warnings for the caterer come from the chart itself. On SeatCanvas and SeatPlan.io dietary notes arrive by CSV import, and on Canva there is no guest data at all.
How do I make a seating chart for multiple wedding events?
On The Private Wedding App, guests RSVP per event (ceremony, reception, rehearsal dinner) and each event gets its own seating chart, seating only the guests attending it, from one guest list. Zola and WeddingWire also cover several events, Zola with a $14.99 Seating Chart in-app purchase on its App Store listing, and SeatCanvas sells one Event Pass per event.
Is Prismm (AllSeated) shutting down?
Prismm is now part of Cvent. Cvent's migration page, checked 14 October 2026, says new event creation moved to Cvent Event Diagramming on 26 August 2026, existing Prismm events stay editable through June 2027, and Prismm work then remains in Cvent in view-only mode. Couples moving their plan can rebuild it in The Private Wedding App, where the chart reads the guest list and RSVPs directly.
What is the best alternative to Prismm (AllSeated) for a wedding seating chart?
The Private Wedding App ($19.99/month or $189 once, unlimited guests): a drag-and-drop chart in any browser, fed live by your RSVPs with meal choices and allergy flags on every guest card, a separate chart per event, and a caterer day sheet with plates per meal and the allergy roster by table. TopTablePlanner describes no RSVP connection, PerfectTablePlan is a desktop install with RSVP status set by hand, and Zola's App Store listing sells its chart as a $14.99 in-app purchase.
Do I need 3D venue software for my wedding seating chart?
Usually only if your venue uses it. To-scale 3D floor plans are built for venue coordinators and professional planners designing the room. For the couple's actual task, deciding who sits with whom, tracking meals and keeping up with cancellations, a chart connected to your live RSVP data does more, which is what The Private Wedding App is built as.
