planning
Home·Blog·Comparison
Comparison

Wedding planner software:
the one that runs both sides.

September 202611 min readWritten by The Private Wedding App
Quick answer

The best wedding planner software for client weddings in 2026 is The Private Wedding App, because it is the only one here that runs both sides of the job: the business side (client invoicing with deposits, contracts your couple signs online, a portfolio of every client wedding) and the guest side (each couple's invitation, RSVPs, meals and allergies, seating and the caterer day sheet), on one wedding priced at $189 lifetime and billed through to the couple. Business tools like HoneyBook ($29 to $109 a month billed yearly) handle contracts, invoicing and leads but list no guest list, RSVP or seating tools on their pricing pages. Aisle Planner ($69.99 a month, capped at 15 active projects) is a genuine planner back office, but its guest-facing side is functional rather than a designed invitation. Planning Pod now describes itself as built for venues, with no public price on its site.

Ask a wedding planner what software they run on and you usually get two answers, because no single tool does the whole job. The business platforms, HoneyBook, Dubsado, run the contracts, invoices and leads, and list nothing about the actual wedding on their pricing pages: no guest list, no RSVPs, no meals, no seating. The couple platforms hold the guest side but have no planner product. So planners stitch the two together with a third tool and a folder of spreadsheets. This compares the software planners actually use on the one question that decides a season: whether a single tool can run both sides.

0
Guest tools on HoneyBook's and Dubsado's pricing pages: no guest list, RSVPs, meals or seating
15
Active projects Aisle Planner's $69.99/mo tier is capped at before the next tier
$189
The Private Wedding App: one plan per wedding, both sides of the job, billed through to the couple

A note on method: the prices and limits below are the vendors' published figures, checked on their own pages on October 19, 2026. We compared the tools on what decides a planner's season rather than a single feature: whether the software holds the guests the wedding is actually made of, whether it also handles the business side (contracts and invoicing), what the couple opens on their phone, and what the pricing model does across a dozen clients a year.

At a glanceSide-by-side comparison

FeatureHoneyBookAisle PlannerPlanning PodPrivate Wedding App
Guest list & RSVPsNone listedGuest management, online RSVPRegistration forms for RSVPsFull, auto-populating
Meals & allergiesNone listedNot statedMeal choices trackedPer guest, severe-allergy flag
Seating chartNone listedLayouts and seatingFloor plans and seating chartsDrag-and-drop from RSVPs
The couple's invitationNone listedEvent website, business-firstEvent pagesCinematic, any language
Contracts & invoicingYesYesYesYes, deposits & e-sign
Leads & marketing CRMFull, its focusFullVenue-focusedLean, no lead capture
Runs the wedding itselfNoPartlyVenue eventsYes, end to end
Pricing model$29-$109/mo billed yearly$69.99+/mo, 15-project capNo public price, demo first$189 once per wedding

Every competitor figure was checked on October 19, 2026 on that company's own pricing page or home page; the linked sources are listed at the end of this article. HoneyBook's plans run $29/$49/$109 per month billed yearly. Aisle Planner's tiers with project tools: $69.99/mo up to 15 active projects, $109.99/mo for 16-25, up to $229.99/mo for 51-100. Planning Pod describes itself as built for venues and shows no public price, only a demo. Dubsado, a close HoneyBook equivalent, runs $35 or $55 a month billed monthly and likewise lists no guest tools. Prices change, so verify before you commit a season to any of them.

Review 01HoneyBook & Dubsado

HoneyBook & DubsadoRun your business beautifully, and know nothing about the wedding

The business CRMs are where a lot of planners start, and for the business itself they are strong: lead capture, proposals, contracts, invoicing, scheduling and client communication in one branded place. HoneyBook runs $29 to $109 a month billed yearly; Dubsado is a close equivalent around $35 to $55 a month.

What they hold about the actual wedding is nothing. There is no guest list, no RSVP, no meal or allergy tracking, no seating chart, and nothing the couple's guests ever open. It is a different product. So a planner running HoneyBook still needs somewhere for the guest side to live, which is the whole reason this comparison exists.

They cover booking clients and getting paid, and they do not run the wedding: the guest list, RSVPs and seating stay somewhere else.

Works well
  • +Lead-to-booking CRM
  • +Contracts, invoicing and proposals
  • +Branded client portal
Falls short
  • −No guest tools listed: no list, RSVP, meals or seating
  • −Nothing the couple's guests open
  • −You still need a second tool for the wedding
  • −Monthly cost runs through the low season

Review 02Aisle Planner

Aisle PlannerA real planner back office, priced by how busy you are

Aisle Planner is a planner-specific tool of the traditional set: lead management, contracts, invoicing, timelines, checklists, design and layout tools and client portals, built for the business of planning. Its project tiers start at $69.99/mo and are capped by the number of active projects.

Two things temper it. The pricing follows project count, $69.99/mo up to 15 active projects, then $109.99 and up as you take more, so a busy season pushes you up the ladder while a quiet winter costs the same. And the guest-facing side is a website and forms organised around your workflow rather than a designed invitation the couple is proud to send, so many Aisle Planner studios still pair it with a separate guest tool per wedding.

It is a strong back office. The question is whether you want the guest side to be an afterthought inside it, or the thing the software is actually built around.

Works well
  • +Full planner back office: contracts, invoicing, timelines
  • +Design and seating-layout tools
  • +Client portals
  • +30-day trial
Falls short
  • −$69.99/mo project tier capped at 15 active projects
  • −Cost climbs with your season
  • −Guest-facing side is functional, not a designed invitation
  • −Guest languages not stated

Review 03Planning Pod

Planning PodHas moved toward venues, not independent planners

Planning Pod remains capable event software, but its own site now describes it as built for venues, with event planners welcome while its software, support and roadmap are venue-first, and no public price, only a demo.

For an independent wedding planner who wants a designed guest experience and pricing that scales per wedding rather than per seat, it is a heavier fit than it once was, and the guest-facing side is event registration rather than a couple's invitation.

Works well
  • +Event-management features
  • +Built for venue teams
  • +Floor plans and event tools
Falls short
  • −Pivoted toward venues, not independent planners
  • −No public price, demo first
  • −Guest side is registration, not an invitation
  • −Venue-first roadmap, by its own FAQ
“

“Every tool here runs half the job well. The season is spent in the gap between the two halves, and that gap is where the wedding lives.”

What the comparison came down to

Review 04The Private Wedding App

The one that runs both sides
The Private
Wedding App
$189
lifetime per wedding, billed through to each couple - no monthly platform fee
See planner pricing →

The Private Wedding App is the only tool here that holds both halves at once. The business side: client invoicing that bills the couple for your fee in deposits and instalments into your own account, contracts your couple signs online, and a Portfolio of every client wedding with live RSVP counts and final-counts alerts. The guest side: each couple's cinematic invitation, RSVP with meals, dietary notes and a severe-allergy flag, a guest list that fills itself, a drag-and-drop seating chart, a budget tracker, a caterer day sheet and a run of show with per-vendor links. One wedding, both sides, no stitching.

The pricing is per wedding, $189 lifetime or $19.99 a month while active, with no platform fee and no project cap, and most planners bill it through to each couple like stationery. So the cost attaches to the client paying for it, and the account itself costs nothing in the off-season, which is the opposite of a tier that charges you the same in January as in June.

The honest limitation: this is not a lead-capture and marketing-automation machine the way HoneyBook is. There is no inquiry funnel or email-marketing suite. A studio that lives on HoneyBook's lead pipeline would keep it for that and use The Private Wedding App to actually run each wedding, business side and guest side, in one place.

Runs both the business side and the guest side
Client invoicing with deposits and instalments
Contracts the couple signs online
Each couple's cinematic invitation with RSVP
Meals, allergies, seating and caterer day sheet
Portfolio of every client wedding, live counts
Wedding Planner AI on each client wedding, makes the changes with your confirmation
$189 lifetime per wedding, billed to the couple

The invitation below is live. Click around and see exactly what your guests will experience:

Live digital wedding invitation demo with online RSVP, guest experience and cinematic theme preview
Create yours →

VerdictWhich app should you use?

It depends on what you're optimising for:

The Private Wedding App runs contracts and invoicing next to the wedding itself, while HoneyBook and Dubsado are built for winning and booking clients, contracts, invoicing and a lead pipeline, at $29 to $109 a month, and you keep the wedding itself somewhere else.

The Private Wedding App holds the run of show, the invoices and the guest side in one place, while Aisle Planner is a traditional back office with design and timeline tools at project-capped tiers from $69.99/mo, with a guest-facing side you will likely supplement per wedding.

The Private Wedding App is built for the independent planner, while Planning Pod is aimed at venues coordinating events in-house, with pricing given only through a demo.

And if the job is running client weddings end to end, the business side and the guest side in one place, The Private Wedding App's planner setup is the only option here that does both, priced per wedding and billed through to the couple. See what each client wedding includes on the wedding planners page, or read how to take deposits and set up payment plans for the billing side.

SourcesEvery fact on this page, with the date it was checked

The Private Wedding App, checked October 19, 2026: pricing ($189 once per wedding or $19.99/month, with no separate fee for the planner tools) and the wedding planners page (client invoicing with deposits, contracts signed online, Portfolio of every client wedding, and each couple's invitation, RSVP, meals, seating and caterer day sheet).

HoneyBook, checked October 19, 2026: pricing page (Starter $29, Essentials $49, Premium $109 per month billed yearly; plan features cover proposals, contracts, invoices, scheduling and lead forms, with no guest list, RSVP, meal or seating tools listed).

Dubsado, checked October 19, 2026: pricing page (Starter $35 and Premier $55 per month billed monthly, $335 and $525 a year; features cover projects, invoicing, forms, scheduling and workflows, with no guest tools listed).

Aisle Planner, checked October 19, 2026: pricing page ($69.99/mo up to 15 projects, $109.99/mo for 16-25, $164.99/mo for 26-50, $229.99/mo for 51-100, each with guest management, layouts and seating, event website and online RSVP; a $49.99/mo sales-only plan without project tools; free 30-day trial).

Planning Pod, checked October 19, 2026: home page and FAQ (built for venues, event planners without a venue welcome, software, support and roadmap venue-first; event websites and registration forms for RSVPs, meal choices, seating charts and floor plans, contracts and e-signatures; no price shown, demo booking only).

Spotted a fact that has changed? Tell us through the contact page and it will be re-checked and re-dated.

See it for yourself.

Everything a planner runs client weddings on: a portfolio of your season, the caterer day sheet, the run of show with per-vendor links, studio templates, couple access, client invoicing with deposits and contracts your couple signs online - plus each wedding's invitation, RSVP, guest list, seating, budget, vendors and AI planner.

See the planner tools →
Frequently asked questions

What is the best wedding planner software?

For running client weddings end to end, The Private Wedding App is the strongest fit in 2026, because it holds both the business side (invoicing with deposits, contracts the couple signs online, a portfolio of every wedding) and the guest side (the invitation, RSVPs, meals, seating and the caterer day sheet) in one tool, priced per wedding at $189 lifetime. HoneyBook and Dubsado cover booking and getting paid but list no guest tools on their pricing pages; Aisle Planner is a full planner back office at project-capped tiers from $69.99/mo with a functional rather than designed guest side; Planning Pod has moved toward venue teams.

What software do wedding planners use?

Most use two things: a business CRM like HoneyBook or Dubsado for contracts, invoicing and leads, and a separate tool for the guest side, the invitation, RSVPs, meals and seating, because the CRMs hold none of that. The alternative is a single platform that runs both. The Private Wedding App holds the business side and the guest side on the same wedding, which is why planners adopt it to stop stitching two systems together.

Is there wedding planner software with a guest list and RSVPs?

Yes. The Private Wedding App holds a full guest list, RSVPs, meal choices, dietary notes, a severe-allergy flag and a seating chart on each client wedding, alongside the business side, contracts and invoicing. Most planner-focused business CRMs, including HoneyBook and Dubsado, list no guest tools on their pricing pages, which is the main reason planners add a second tool.

How much does wedding planner software cost?

It depends on the model. Business CRMs are monthly: HoneyBook $29 to $109 a month billed yearly, Dubsado $35 to $55. Planner back offices are tiered by project count: Aisle Planner's project tiers from $69.99/mo capped at 15 active projects. Venue-oriented tools like Planning Pod show no public price and start with a demo. The Private Wedding App is priced per wedding instead, $189 lifetime or $19.99/mo while active, with the whole platform included and the plan usually billed through to the couple, so it costs nothing in a quiet month.

What is the difference between wedding planner software and a wedding planner CRM?

A wedding planner CRM, like HoneyBook or Dubsado, manages the business relationship: leads, proposals, contracts, invoicing and communication. It does not run the wedding itself. Wedding planner software that runs the wedding holds the guest list, RSVPs, meals, seating and the couple's invitation. The Private Wedding App is unusual in doing both, the business side and the guest side, so a planner does not have to run a CRM and a separate guest tool side by side.

Keep reading

Run every client wedding from one place.

One plan per wedding, billed through to the couple. Your account is free.

See planner pricingHow it works for planners

$189 lifetime or $19.99/mo per wedding · no software fee