planning
Home·Blog·Comparison
Comparison

The best wedding registry sites in 2026:
pros and cons, fees included.

October 202611 min readThe Private Wedding App
Quick answer

For couples who want cash gifts and their registry inside the wedding invitation, the best option in 2026 is The Private Wedding App, a full wedding planning platform whose Gifts page takes card contributions in ten currencies, paid out by Stripe to your own bank account, next to link cards for any registry you keep. It costs $19.99/month or $189 once for the whole planner, and each contribution carries a 2.5% processing fee in the EU and UK or 3.5% elsewhere, added on the guest's side by default. 3-day free trial. The store registries each have a stated limit: Zola only ships within the United States and needs a US bank account for cash gifts, Amazon's fund is paid as an Amazon gift card, Crate & Barrel's is a store gift card, and Joy's cash fund runs in one currency that cannot be changed after setup.

A wedding registry used to be one store and a scanner gun. Now most couples want three things at once: a few real gifts, a cash or honeymoon fund, and a way for every guest to find all of it without a separate login. The fine print decides which site fits: who pays the card fee on cash gifts, how long the completion discount lasts, whether the registry takes items from any store, and whether a guest in London or Dubai can actually give. I read each registry's own pages and help center on October 14, 2026, and set them next to The Private Wedding App, where the gifts live inside the invitation itself.

9
Registry options compared, each read on its own pages on October 14, 2026
10
Currencies for card gifts on The Private Wedding App
US only
Where Zola ships, per its own FAQ

A note on method: every competitor fact below comes from the registry's own pages or help center, read on October 14, 2026, and listed in the note under the table. I left out Target and Williams Sonoma because their registry terms did not load for me, and I would rather leave a store out than guess. I compared each one on what decides a registry today: the cash fund and its fees, physical gifts and any-store items, the completion discount, and guests or couples outside the US.

At a glanceSide-by-side comparison

RegistryCash fundCard fee on cash giftsAny storeCompletion discountOutside the US
The Private Wedding AppYes, inside the invitation, paid to your bank2.5% EU/UK, 3.5% elsewhere, guest pays by defaultLink cards to any registry, PayPal or bank detailsNo store, so no discount10 currencies, payout by Stripe
ZolaYes2.5%, guest pays by defaultYes, browser extension20% for 6 monthsShips in the US only, US bank account for cash
The KnotYes2.5%, paid by guestsYes20% for 6 months, terms contradict on reuseNot stated
AmazonGift card fund onlyNo fee, paid out as an Amazon gift cardAmazon items20% once, after $500 in gifts, max $300 offNot stated
Crate & BarrelStore gift card onlyNot applicableNot stated15% for 6 monthsNot stated
JoyYes, via Venmo, PayPal, Cash App or card3.5% example on cards, plus $1.70 per transferYes20% on items leftCards in US, UK, Canada, EU, one currency fixed at setup
HoneyfundYes, cash only0% to give, up to 3.5% + $0.59 to cash out to a bankNot statedNot statedBank account route outside the US
MyRegistryYes, via PayPal2.5% PayPal fee, guest handling fee from $3.95Yes, any storeKeeps each store's ownLocal sites in 7 countries
BlueprintYes, honeymoon, home and charity funds2.5%, payer not statedYes, desktop only10% on select itemsNot stated

Checked October 14, 2026 on each registry's own pages. Zola: zola.com/wedding-registry and its FAQ articles on the 2.5% credit card processing fee, zero-fee cash funds, the post-wedding discount and international shipping ("At this time, Zola only ships within the United States"). The Knot: theknot.com/registry and its help center articles "Why is there a credit card fee" and "How do I use my Post-Wedding Discount" (which says both "valid for unlimited use" and "can only be used once"). Amazon: amazon.com/wedding and its benefits page. Crate & Barrel: its wedding registry page and registry FAQ. Joy: withjoy.com/registry and its help articles on credit card contributions and cash funds. Honeyfund: honeyfund.com/fees. MyRegistry: myregistry.com and its customer care articles on cost and cash gift fees. Blueprint: blueprintregistry.com and its free registry page. "Not stated" means I did not find it on the registry's own pages, not that it is missing. Target and Williams Sonoma are not in the table because their registry terms did not load for me. Fees and discounts change, so check before you sign up.

Review 01Zola

ZolaCash funds and any-store gifts, for couples with a US address

Zola's registry mixes its own store, gifts from "any online store" through a browser extension, and cash funds. It says cash funds have 0% fees from Zola, with a 2.5% card processing fee that guests cover by default and couples can choose to absorb. Its completion discount is 20% on remaining registry items for six months after the wedding, if the registry was created at least 30 days before and received at least one gift.

The limit is geography. Its FAQ says "At this time, Zola only ships within the United States", Puerto Rico and Guam excluded, and receiving cash gifts needs a US checking account and a US address. For a couple living in Europe or a guest list spread across countries, that rules out most of it.

Works well
  • +Store, any-store and cash funds in one place
  • +20% completion discount for six months
Falls short
  • −Ships within the US only
  • −Cash gifts need a US bank account and address
  • −2.5% card fee on cash gifts

Review 02The Knot

The KnotAny-gift registry with a discount whose terms contradict themselves

The Knot's registry lets you add "(literally) any gift" and syncs with partner stores such as Amazon, Crate & Barrel and Target. Its cash fund is free for couples, with a 2.5% processing fee on card contributions "paid by guests at checkout".

Its post-wedding discount is 20% for six months, but the same help article says it is "valid for unlimited use" and later that it "can only be used once". Nothing on the pages I read covers guests or couples outside the US.

Works well
  • +Any gift from any store
  • +Cash fund with no cut taken by The Knot
Falls short
  • −2.5% card fee paid by guests
  • −Discount terms contradict each other
  • −Nothing stated for couples outside the US

Review 03Amazon

AmazonFast shipping, with cash given as Amazon credit

Amazon's registry covers products in Amazon's stores, with free two-day shipping on eligible items, 180-day returns and group gifting. Its fund is a Gift Card Fund: guests give without fees, and you receive an Amazon.com gift card, not money in your bank.

The completion discount is a one-time 20% on a single order of select items, unlocked after $500 in qualifying gifts, capped at $300 off.

Works well
  • +Two-day shipping and 180-day returns
  • +No fee on the gift card fund
Falls short
  • −Fund paid as Amazon gift card, not cash
  • −Amazon items only
  • −Discount is one order, capped at $300

Review 04Crate & Barrel

Crate & BarrelA home goods registry with a store gift card instead of cash

Crate & Barrel offers a 15% completion card good on any item for six months, free shipping on eligible orders of $49 or more, bonus gifts and in-store registry events. CB2 items can be added. For money, its FAQ points guests to contributing to a Crate & Barrel gift card and to group gift funds, so the cash stays in the store.

Works well
  • +15% completion card, reusable for six months
  • +In-store registry events
Falls short
  • −No cash fund, store gift card only
  • −Any-store items not stated

Review 05Joy

JoyCash funds in one currency, fixed at setup

Joy's registry takes "anything from any store" and cash funds through Venmo, PayPal or Cash App with no Joy fee. Card contributions run through Stripe for registries in the US, UK, Canada and Europe, with a processing fee paid by the guest (3.5% in its example) and a flat $1.70 per transfer to your bank.

Its cash fund FAQ says the currency is set by the couple's country among USD, CAD, GBP or EUR, and "can't be changed after setup". A couple whose guests sit in several currencies gets one.

Works well
  • +Free, any-store items
  • +Cash via apps with no Joy fee
  • +20% discount on items left
Falls short
  • −One currency, fixed at setup
  • −$1.70 per bank transfer on card gifts
  • −Card gifts limited to four regions

Review 06Honeyfund

HoneyfundCash only, with the fee moved to the cash-out

Honeyfund charges no platform or transaction fee when guests give and covers card processing, with an optional tip guests can add. The cost appears when you take the money out: 0% to its prepaid Mastercard or gift cards, 2.2% to PayPal or Venmo, and 3.5% plus $0.59 to a bank account, with a $10 monthly fee after 18 months of wallet inactivity. Couples outside the US use the bank account route, with a fee that varies by currency.

Works well
  • +No fee when guests give
  • +Cash-out options at 0%
Falls short
  • −3.5% + $0.59 to cash out to a bank
  • −$10 a month after 18 months inactive
  • −No physical gifts stated

Review 07MyRegistry

MyRegistryA universal registry with fees on both sides of a cash gift

MyRegistry is free and lets you add items "from any store in the world", syncing store registries such as Target, Amazon and Macy's so each keeps its own completion discount. It runs local sites in seven countries.

Cash gifts go through PayPal: one of its articles says a 2.5% fee is deducted from the amount contributed, and another lists a guest handling fee from $3.95 up to $6.95, with a $1,000 limit per transaction.

Works well
  • +Items from any store
  • +Local sites in seven countries
Falls short
  • −2.5% fee taken from cash gifts
  • −Guest handling fee from $3.95
  • −$1,000 per transaction

Review 08Blueprint

BlueprintAny-store adds on desktop, with a 10% discount

Blueprint, now part of David's Bridal, is free and offers honeymoon, home and charity funds with a 2.5% processor fee, without saying on its page who pays it. Its "Add to Blueprint" button works on desktop only, and the completion discount is 10% on select items for up to a year.

Works well
  • +Free, with several fund types
  • +Imports existing registries
Falls short
  • −Any-store button desktop only
  • −10% discount on select items
  • −Fee payer not stated
“

“A registry is easy when every guest lives in the same country as the couple. The fine print starts to matter the moment one of them does not.”

What the comparison came down to

Review 09The Private Wedding App

Gifts inside the invitation
The Private
Wedding App
$19.99/mo
or $189 once, the full planner, gifts included
Try it free for 3 days →or $189 once, lifetime

The Private Wedding App is a full wedding planning platform: the invitation and wedding website, the guest list and RSVP, meals and allergies, the seating chart, a budget, vendors, a checklist, an AI planning assistant, guest photos and gifts, all on one guest list. It is not a store and has no product catalog. It is where guests find the gifts, next to the schedule, the venue and the RSVP.

Cash gifts are paid by card inside the invitation. Guests pick a suggested amount or type their own, add a note and pay. You choose the currency among ten: euro, US dollar, pound, Swiss franc, dirham, Canadian and Australian dollar, Swedish and Danish krone and zloty. The money is paid out by Stripe to your own bank account. A processing fee of 2.5% for couples in the EU and UK, or 3.5% elsewhere, is added on the guest's side by default, so a 100 gift costs the guest 102.50 and you receive 100. You can choose to absorb it instead.

Any list you already keep stays where it is. Add it as a link card, with PayPal or your bank details, each with an optional QR code, and a short personal message on top. The Gifts page is off by default and only appears when you switch it on, and the message can be translated for guests who read another language.

Cash gifts by card inside the invitation
10 currencies, paid out to your bank by Stripe
Fee on the guest's side by default
Link cards to any registry, PayPal or bank details
Personal message, translated for each language
Off until you switch it on
Every contribution and note in your dashboard
Part of the full planner: RSVP, seating, budget, AI

The invitation below is live. Click around and see exactly what your guests will experience:

Live digital wedding invitation demo with online RSVP, guest experience and cinematic theme preview
Create yours →

VerdictWhich app should you use?

It depends on what you're optimising for:

If your guests and your money live in more than one country, or you simply want gifts where guests already are, in the invitation, The Private Wedding App takes card gifts in ten currencies to your own bank and links any registry you keep.

If you already keep a list of physical gifts somewhere, you do not need a second registry site: add it as a link card on The Private Wedding App's Gifts page, next to the cash fund, so guests find everything in the invitation.

Store registries pay their cash side as store credit or only to a US bank, per the table above. On The Private Wedding App, cash gifts reach your own bank in the currency you choose.

Read the step-by-step honeymoon fund guide, see the Gifts page, then start the free trial.

01Cash funds for guests in other countries

Cash is the gift that travels best. A guest in Toronto cannot easily send a stand mixer to Lyon, and a couple in Dubai has no use for a US store credit. Before you pick, check three things: which bank accounts it pays out to, which currencies guests pay in, and who pays the card fee.

On the pages I read on October 14, 2026: Zola needs a US checking account and US address for cash gifts. Joy's card contributions work for registries in the US, UK, Canada and Europe, in one currency set by the couple's country that cannot be changed later. Honeyfund sends couples outside the US to its bank account route, with a fee that varies by currency. Amazon and Crate & Barrel pay their funds as store gift cards.

On The Private Wedding App you choose the gift currency among ten, guests pay by card inside the invitation, and Stripe pays the money to the bank account you connect, typically within a few business days of each gift.

Question to askHow The Private Wedding App answers
Which currency do guests pay in?The one you choose: EUR, USD, GBP, CHF, AED, CAD, AUD, SEK, DKK or PLN
Where does the money go?Your own bank account, paid out by Stripe
Who pays the card fee?The guest by default, 2.5% in the EU and UK, 3.5% elsewhere; you can absorb it
Can guests still use our store registry?Yes, as a link card next to the cash fund
Do guests need an account?No, they give from the invitation link

02How to set up gifts on your invitation

Everything below can be done on the free trial, and nothing shows to guests until you switch the Gifts page on.

  • Gifts: connect your payout account once, a guided Stripe setup
  • Choose your currency and up to a few suggested amounts
  • Decide who covers the processing fee
  • Write a short message in your own words, translated for each language
  • Add link cards to any registry you keep, PayPal or bank details
  • Switch the Gifts page on and open the invitation as a guest to check it

See it for yourself.

Explore the whole platform: cinematic invitation, RSVP with meals and allergies, guest list, seating chart, budget, vendors, checklist, moodboard, photo sharing and the AI planner. No account needed.

Try the full planner →
Frequently asked questions

What are the best wedding registry sites?

For cash gifts and a registry inside the invitation, The Private Wedding App: card gifts in ten currencies paid to your own bank, link cards to any registry, and the whole wedding planner, for $19.99/month or $189 once. 3-day free trial. The store registries each carry a stated limit: Zola ships within the US only, The Knot's discount terms contradict on reuse, Amazon and Crate & Barrel pay their funds as store gift cards, and Joy's cash fund runs in one currency fixed at setup.

What are the pros and cons of Zola's registry?

Zola mixes its store, any-store gifts and cash funds with a 20% completion discount for six months, and its own FAQ says it only ships within the United States, cash gifts need a US bank account and address, and a 2.5% card fee applies to cash gifts. For couples or guests outside the US, The Private Wedding App takes card gifts in ten currencies and links any registry.

Which wedding registry has the lowest fees on cash gifts?

It depends on who pays and when. On The Private Wedding App, the fee is 2.5% for couples in the EU and UK or 3.5% elsewhere, added on the guest's side by default, so you receive the full gift in any of ten currencies, with nothing to pay to cash out. Elsewhere, on October 14, 2026: Zola and The Knot charge guests a 2.5% card fee, with Zola paying out only to a US bank account; Joy's card example is 3.5% from the guest plus $1.70 per bank transfer; Honeyfund charges nothing when guests give but up to 3.5% plus $0.59 to cash out to a bank.

Which wedding registry works for international guests?

The Private Wedding App, because guests give by card inside the invitation in the currency you choose among ten, and the money goes to your own bank account wherever you are. Zola ships within the US only and needs a US bank account for cash gifts, and Joy's card gifts work in four regions in one currency fixed at setup.

Can I have a cash fund and a store registry at the same time?

Yes. On The Private Wedding App, the Gifts page holds a cash fund paid by card plus link cards to any store registry, PayPal or bank details. Store registries that mix both carry the card fees and payout limits shown in the table above.

Is a honeymoon fund better than a registry?

For couples who already live together or live abroad, often yes. The Private Wedding App puts a honeymoon fund in the invitation itself, paid by card in ten currencies to your bank, and still lets you link any list you already keep for guests who prefer a physical gift.

Does Amazon's wedding registry allow cash?

Amazon offers a Gift Card Fund: guests give without fees, and you receive an Amazon.com gift card rather than cash. On The Private Wedding App, guests give real money by card, paid out to your bank account.

Do Crate & Barrel or Target have cash funds?

Crate & Barrel's FAQ points guests to contributing to a Crate & Barrel gift card, plus group gift funds. I could not load Target's registry terms on October 14, 2026, so they are not in this comparison. The Private Wedding App takes cash gifts by card, paid to your own bank, and links any list you already keep.

Which registries take items from any store?

The Private Wedding App does not sell items; it links any registry you keep, from any store, next to a cash fund paid by card in ten currencies. Among store registries, Zola takes other-store items through a browser extension with US-only shipping, Blueprint through a button that works on desktop only, and The Knot, Joy and MyRegistry take them with the cash fund fees shown in the table.

What is a wedding registry completion discount?

A discount on the items left on your registry after the wedding. On October 14, 2026: Zola and The Knot offer 20% for six months, Joy 20% on eligible items left, Crate & Barrel a 15% card for six months, Amazon a one-time 20% after $500 in gifts, and Blueprint 10% on select items. The Private Wedding App has no store, so no completion discount: gifts arrive as money in your bank.

Is it rude to ask for cash on a wedding invitation?

Not when it is done gently. Put the gifts on a separate page rather than on the invitation card, and lead with a line such as "Your presence is the only gift we need." On The Private Wedding App, the Gifts page is off by default and appears only when you switch it on, with your own message on top.

How much does The Private Wedding App charge on cash gifts?

There is no extra subscription for gifts. Each contribution carries a processing fee of 2.5% for couples in the EU and UK and 3.5% elsewhere, added on the guest's side by default, so a 100 gift costs the guest 102.50 and you receive 100. The planner itself is $19.99/month or $189 once.

Keep reading

Breathe and Impress.

Where luxury guest experience meets effortless planning.

Try it free for 3 days →Get lifetime access

$19.99/month, cancel anytime · 3-day free trial · or $189 once, lifetime access

Nothing for guests to downloadOne private link for your guestsCancel anytime